Workshop

Workshop
The workshop, the creative center of an artist.

The GRIEB & BENZINGER timepiece artists live and work in two small yet exquisite special ateliers: One in the heart of the famous ‘gold town’ Pforzheim plus our creative base camp at Daetzingen castle in the Swabian village of Grafenau. Here, time and inspiration are the most important factors in the quest for true perfection. Today, as 100 years ago, creativity and inspiration still need three things above all others to flourish:

Time, time, and more time…

In Pforzheim, lynchpin of the German goldsmithery and jewellery industry, we specifically carry out our guilloché, engraving and skeletonizing works. With its historic special machinery, partly originating from the 19th century, the workshop reminds of an industrial museum, a quite lively one though. Today, there are in fact only very few specialists world-wide who are capable of practising such an exceptional handicraft as skeletonizing, engraving and guilloché by means of these traditional tools and, above all, in the true sense of the word: by hand. This is where Jochen Benzinger – who justifiably ranks among the very best of his guild – rules over the largest collection of existing and still operative engine-turning machines!

The art of restoring a timepiece is a dying trade. In the GRIEB & BENZINGER workshops, however, it lives on, for here the traditions and techniques from all eras of fine watchmaking are united under one roof – this is one of a kind world-wide!

Watchmaking and restoration are carried out in our second workshop and headquarter, Schloss Daetzingen in the Swabian village of Grafenau. The castle’s former washhouse, which has been transformed appropriately for our purposes, provides Hermann Grieb with the peace and inspiration of the country idyll he needs to dedicate himself to the creative demands this special kind of watchmaker’s art involves: cutting toothed wheels and plates by hand on classic watchmaker’s lathes, turning screws about as thin as a human hair and in the end fit all these parts together into a functioning movement.

Four workstations as well as a glassed cleanroom, in which all the GRIEB & BENZINGER PLATINUM models are brought back to life, were established specifically for these purposes.

Atelier

Atelier
Das Atelier, der kreative Lebensraum des Künstlers. Die Uhrenkünstler von GRIEB & BENZINGER leben und schaffen in zwei kleinen aber feinen Spezialateliers: Eins im Herzen der Goldstadt Pforzheim sowie unser kreatives Basislager Schloss Dätzingen im schwäbischen Grafenau. Hier sind Zeit und Muße das höchste Gut für vollendete Perfektion. Heute wie vor 100 Jahren brauchen Inspiration und Kreativität vor allem drei Dinge um perfekt zu gedeihen: Zeit, Zeit und noch mehr Zeit.

In Pforzheim, dem Dreh-und Angelpunkt der deutschen Goldschmiedeindustrie, führen wir speziell Guillochier- Gravur- und Skelettierarbeiten aus. Mit seinen historischen Spezialmaschinen und Uhrmacherwerkzeugen, die teilweise aus dem 19. Jahrhundert stammen, gleicht das Atelier einem lebendigen Industriemuseum. Tatsächlich gibt es weltweit nur noch wenige Spezialisten, die mit diesen traditionellen Werkzeugen eine so außergewöhnliche Handwerkskunst wie Skelettieren, Gravieren und Guillochieren ausüben können, und das im wahrsten Sinn des Wortes: von Hand. Hier herrscht Jochen Benzinger – er gilt zu Recht als einer der besten seines Fachs weltweit – über die größte Sammlung noch existierender und funktionstüchtiger Guillochiermaschinen!
Die Kunst der Uhrenrestauration ist ein aussterbender Beruf. In den Ateliers von GRIEB & BENZINGER jedoch lebt sie weiter, hier vereinen sich Tradition und Technik aller Epochen der Uhrmacherkunst – das ist weltweit einmalig!

Uhrmacherei und Restauration betreiben wir in unserem zweiten Atelier und Hauptsitz, Schloss Dätzingen im schwäbischen Grafenau. Das ehemalige Waschhaus des Schlosses, das unseren Zwecken angemessen umgebaut wurde, bietet Hermann Grieb die Ruhe und Inspiration der Landidylle, die nötig ist um sich den kreativen Herausforderungen dieser besonderen Art der Uhrmacherkunst voll und ganz widmen zu können: In Handarbeit auf klassischen Uhrmacherdrehbänken Zahnräder und Platinen fräsen, Schrauben drehen, die so dünn sind wie ein menschliches Haar und am Ende alle Teile zu einem funktionierenden Uhrwerk montieren.

Vier Werkplätze für die speziellen Arbeitsgänge sowie ein verglaster Reinraum, in dem alle GRIEB & BENZINGER PLATINUM-Modelle zum Leben erweckt werden, wurden eigens für diese Zwecke eingerichtet.