Watchmaking

Uhrmacherei

Watchmaking

In every single GRIEB & BENZINGER PLATINUM unicum beats the heart of an historic movement, newly interpreted by a master of fine watchmaking. Down to the smallest detail, these filigree works of art are disassembled and restored.  Since there do no longer exist any working drawings for these movements, only a handful of specialists world-wide are capable of realizing such an intensive restoration and modification of this sort. Hundreds of parts of which each single one is meticulously wrought! One of these few specialists world-wide is Hermann Grieb.

This unique combination of old techniques and new functions forms the creative bedrock upon which the fabulous GRIEB & BENZINGER PLATINUM timepieces are composed.

Step by step

Disassembling a watch complication means digging deeper and deeper into the very heart of a mechanical movement. The deeper you dig the greater the amount of apparently similar levers and identical tiny screws – which are in fact just slightly different in length and accuracy of fit and partly differ merely minimally.

Reassembling the refined movement parts which have, due to hand-engraving, gouilloché and skeletonizing, occasionally only been changed by 5/100 Millimeters, demands

 

the long years of experience of Hermann Grieb who laboriously needs to precisely readjust all the parts – up to 20 times if necessary – until all functions are in perfect harmony again.

The vertical range of manufacture required from our basic watch movement to the finished GRIEB & BENZINGER PLATINUM movement has thus become intensive to such an extent, it by far exceeds the expenditure for a new, industrially manufactured watch movement!

Uhrmacherei

Uhrmacherei

Uhrmacherei

In jedem einzelnen der Unikate von GRIEB & BENZINGER PLATINUM schlägt das Herz der vom Meister der Uhrmacherkunst neu interpretierten historischen Uhrwerke. Bis ins kleinste Detail werden die filigranen Kunstwerke zerlegt und restauriert. Da für diese Uhrwerke keine Werkpläne mehr existieren, ist es nur einer Handvoll Spezialisten weltweit möglich, eine solch intensive Restaurierung und derartige Modifikation durchzuführen. Hunderte von Teilen, von denen jedes einzelne minutiös bearbeitet wird! Einer dieser wenigen Spezialisten weltweit ist Hermann Grieb.
Die einzigartige Kombination von alter Technik und neuen Funktionen bildet die kreative Grundlage für die Kompositionen der fantastischen GRIEB & BENZINGER PLATINUM.

Schritt für Schritt

Beim Zerlegen einer Uhrenkomplikation dringt man mit jedem Schritt tiefer ins Herz des mechanischen Uhrwerkes vor. Je tiefer man vordringt, desto größer wird die Anzahl von scheinbar gleichen Hebeln und vermeintlich identischen Schräubchen, die in Länge und Passgenauigkeit nur unerhebliche Unterschiede aufweisen und teils nur minimalst unterschiedlich sind.

Bei der Remontage der von uns veredelten Uhrwerksteile, die durch Handgravur, Guillochieren und Handskelettieren  mitunter um nur 5/100 Millimeter verändert wurden, zeigt

 

sich die langjährige Erfahrung von Hermann Grieb, der in mühevoller Kleinstarbeit alle Teile perfekt justieren muss – wenn nötig bis zu 20 Mal – so lange, bis alle Funktionen wieder im perfekten Einklang sind.

Die Fertigungstiefe von unserem Basisuhrwerk bis zum fertigen GRIEB & BENZINGER PLATINUM Werk ist dadurch so intensiv geworden, dass sie den Aufwand eines neuen, industriell gefertigten Uhrwerkes weit übersteigt!