Inspiration

Inspiration

Hermann Grieb and Jochen Benzinger find their source of inspiration in old masters of fine watchmaking such as Abraham-Louis Breguet and his apprentice Charles Oudin. Early on, Breguet recognized his apprentice’s talent and devotedly nurtured it. In the ensuing years, Oudin developed and constructed complicated movements for his former teacher.

Charles Oudin

As early as 1820, Charles Oudin constructed blued movements—which are most rare these days. An homage to Oudin, all movements of the GRIEB & BENZINGER PLATINUM timepieces are entirely or party blue platinum-coated. GRIEB & BENZINGER are the only watchmakers worldwide to consistently blue all movements out of respect for this great tradition.

Blue Period

“Blue is the color of spirituality: the darker the blue, the more it awakens human desire for the eternal.” (Wassily Kandinsky)

The movements of the GRIEB & BENZINGER PLATINUM timepieces chiefly originate in the era spanning 1880 to 1930. This period was also known for works of art by great masters such as Pablo Picasso, Claude Monet and Wassily Kandinsky. The color blue was a source of inspiration for these artists: Picasso, for example, reduced his paintings to a minimum in respect to contour and color around 1900. The thus created works belong to the artist’s “blue period.”

Inspiration

Inspiration

Inspiration finden Hermann Grieb und Jochen Benzinger in alten Meistern der Uhrmacherkunst wie Abraham-Louis Breguet und dessen Schüler Charles Oudin. Breguet erkannte früh das Talent seines Schülers und förderte ihn, in späteren Jahren entwickelte und baute Oudin komplizierte Uhrwerke für seinen ehemaligen Lehrmeister.

Charles Oudin

Bereits um 1820 baute Charles Oudin gebläute Werke, die heute eine ausgesprochene Rarität sind. Als Hommage an Charles Oudin sind alle Werke von GRIEB & BENZINGER PLATINUM teilweise oder ganz in blau platin-beschichtet. GRIEB & BENZINGER PLATINUM  ist die weltweit einzige Marke, die aus Respekt vor dieser großen Tradition konsequent alle Uhrwerke in blau beschichtet.

Blaue Periode

“Je tiefer das Blau wird, desto tiefer ruft es den Menschen in das Unendliche, weckt in ihm die Sehnsucht nach Reinem und schließlich Übersinnlichem.“ (W. Kandinsky)

Die Werke der GRIEB & BENZINGER PLATINUM Uhren stammen überwiegend aus den Jahren 1880 -1930. Dies ist auch die Wirkenszeit großer Künstler wie Wassily Kandinsky, Claude Monet und Pablo Picasso. Die Farbe Blau war für diese Meister ihres Fachs eine Quelle der Inspiration. Picasso beispielsweise reduzierte um 1900 seine Gemälde in Farbe und Formgebung auf ein Minimum. Es entstanden Bilder, die als die „Blaue Periode“ des Künstlers bekannt sind.